A Change of Train-ery

It seems I have finally gotten my groove back after recovering from Ironman Los Cabos and subsequently making the move north. In truth, moving took a lot more out of me than I had anticipated. I kept telling myself, “it wouldn’t be that hard” and “we don’t that much stuff.” Well we certainly have more “stuff” than I envisioned, and packing took more out of me than even the longest training days. And now that we are here, there is carpet to be replaced and paint colors to be chosen. I enjoy the design process, but I will be relieved when there is no longer a checklist hanging over our heads.

The silver lining to being distracted with moving boxes and color schemes, is the absence of feeling the burnout that can accompany the completion of an Ironman. Whether my hunger for self-inflicted pain is coming from a nonexistent run in Cabos, or from a wonderful change of scenery, I’m not sure. Either way, I am so happy to be putting hay back in the barn on new roads and in new pools and new lakes with some new friends.

It feels like race season is fully upon us and I can’t wait to jump back in.

Leave a Reply

