Beet and Parsnip Soup

After returning home from the Coast Ride I spent the next 24 hours in the kitchen. Three days of eating Bobo bars, Fritos, Coke and whatever else I could get my hands on had caught up with me and I needed veggies, stat.

Unfortunately in my junk food induced haze I neglected to take any photos, but trust me when I tell you this beet and parsnip soup is not only delicious but beautiful! We ate it the first night as a chunky soup and then the second night I blended it, for a thicker puree. Side note: when blending, if using a food processor, blend in batches to avoid beet red broth running down your cabinets. Not that I would know what that looks like…

Recipe from Simply Organic

Serves 6

6 cups vegetable or chicken broth
1 lb parsnips, cubed
6 beets, washed and trimmed
1 large shallot, thinly sliced
3 whole cloves (I used 1 cinnamon stick after I realized I didn’t have any cloves)
3 whole peppercorns (I used 10)
3 tablespoons sugar
Salt
Freshly ground pepper
1 cup sour cream or yogurt
1 green onion, finely chopped
2 tablespoons chopped fresh dill

Bring the broth to a boil in a large saucepan over high heat. Add the parsnips. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer for 10 minutes, or until tender. Remove the parsnips to a bowl.

Add the beets, shallot, cloves and peppercorns to the broth. Cover and simmer for 45 minutes, or until the beets are tender. Remove beets to a cutting board. When the beets are cool, slip off the skins and cut into small cubes.

Strain the broth through a fine sieve into a large bowl. Return the broth to the pot. Add the parsnips, beets and sugar. Season to taste with salt and black pepper.

In a small bowl, combine the sour cream, green onion and dill.

Ladle soup into bowls and top with sour cream mixture.

Pairs well with a crisp green salad covered in smoked salmon. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

