Mind Over Matter

I debated not writing about this race at all. I was frustrated and even more so, annoyed with myself. But there are things to be learned every time you toe the line, so here goes.

When I registered for this race months ago it seemed like a great idea. Although the fall was already full of travel for us, it felt like I could get a solid block of work done before heading out to Palm Desert. In reality the “block” wasn’t quite what I was hoping for. I strained my hamstring running a fun 5K with Yasi and Katie at the beginning of November (Katie did a great recap here), which prevented almost all speed work. And then there was the fourteen hour drive back from Oregon at the beginning of race week, also not ideal. None of these are excuses, but they are things I let creep into my head and eventually get the best of me.

On Wednesday I finally checked the forecast for race day and almost had a panic attack. Even in December I had assumed the desert would have tolerable conditions. But as is the case all over the country right now, the weather was not looking good. When the gun went off temps were forecasted at 40 degrees with a 50% chance of rain beginning soon after we got on the bike. And then of course came the wind advisory, warning us of 15-25 mph winds with gusts up to 65 mph. Cue obsessive weather app checking and boat loads of wasted nervous energy. By the time race morning rolled around I had nothing left. I had psyched myself out and it showed.

Swim: 30:06

Bike: 2:56:40

Run: 1:38:39

5:16:04 (Including an 8 minute T1 for pants, arm warmers, a cycling jersey, a jacket and a hat).

Was the weather less than ideal? For sure. It was cold, and it was windy. But was it nearly as bad as I had envisioned, definitely not.

After two days of post-race workouts it is even clearer I didn’t give everything I had on race day. While hanging onto Mark’s wheel for two hours yesterday it was painfully apparent I had not emptied the tank on Saturday, not even close.

I hope this admission will serve as a reminder to myself that fretting over what could happen on race day is worthless. It is time to put my head down, and go to work.

 

8 thoughts on “Mind Over Matter

  1. Awwww, don’t be too hard on yourself! You still got on the starting line (and across the finish!) and that’s always something to be proud of! Plus you definitely brightened the days of lots of people during your travels! Check the box for making the world a better place and know there’s still lots more time to train and race!

  2. At least you got out there! Even though maybe it wasn’t what you were looking for, congrats on a solid race! And next time you DO have crummy weather, now that you’re aware, you’ll be the one to have the mental advantage ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. You nailed it in your reply to Maggie… no use focusing on what you can’t control. A good lesson for everyone! I think it’s also a valuable tool for managing your emotions when others around you decide to fret about the uncontrollable. You are strong and you can be the toughest warrior out there on race day, if you so choose, no matter the conditions. I think you’re an amazing woman and I can’t wait to see how you grow as an athlete this next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Elizabeth! I kept trying to keep what you had endured at Tahoe in mind but clearly didn’t focus quite hard enough. I’m excited for your 2014 as well! Kona won’t know what hit it ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Keep your head up, girlโ€ฆ you raced in less than ideal conditions and did well! You’re stronger because of it and can channel that mental toughness during your next race ๐Ÿ™‚ Excited to see you grow as an athlete over the next year, too! Enjoy your weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

