Settling In

After the tragedy in Boston I wrote a short post about community. This past weekend was more evidence that this sport has the ability to connect you with wonderful people. Many of whom I would not have met without triathlon. Both Katie and Yasi made the trip out to California for a weekend of swimming, RIDING, a bit of running and a lot of eating. Sadly Yasi had to continue up to NorCal to honor the memory of a dear friend, her tribute is beautiful and moving and I encourage you to read.

Although there was a lot of good work put in, nine hours in the saddle over Friday and Saturday, there was also a lot of chatting and smiling. As we made our way through Palos Verdes on Saturday I couldn’t stop continually quoting A Bug’s Life, “I can’t help it, it’s so beautiful!” It was exactly the boost I needed to wash away the remaining bitterness of Wildflower.

It was also the perfect weekend to settle in. Ironman Coeur d’Alene is now just under six weeks away, which means the final and biggest build of my training has begun. I’m feeling good and strong but simultaneously terrified. My heart definitely skipped a beat opening this week’s training schedule.

The next few weeks will be spent getting dialed in. Long rides will be used to hone race day nutrition (and to develop a heat plan in case the temperature rises above 90), and track workouts will mechanize marathon race pace. Meals will be thoughtful, even more so than usual, and stretching, rolling and massage will not be put off.

It is go time.

3 thoughts on “Settling In

  1. You are so kind. I am SO happy that triathlon (and Heather) brought us together. Although circumstances were unfortunate, I’m still so glad I got to spend some time with you and Katie (and Mark and Benjamin). You guys are all totally awesome. You are going to do GREAT during your training. One day at a time was the best motto to help me get through the final push to the end last year. Plus froyo. Works like a charm.
    xoxo

  2. Glad you guys had such a great weekend!! I can’t wait to hear how awesome you will do in your training and race – you have worked hard. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

