Off to the Races

It is here! I’m both incredibly excited and terrified for what is to come this weekend at Wildflower. Temperatures that were forecasted well above 90 degrees have come down nicely to the low to mid-80’s, perfect Smashfest weather. All that stands between me and those hills is the immense packing that needs to occur between now and tomorrow at lunch. That, and a race nails session with Katie later today.

As Mark and Coach have both reminded me, this is not “the” race this year. It is a building block, and a check on progress. It is another barometer we will use to find out where my “race” at Coeur d’Alene can really begin. I am trying very hard to keep all of that in mind.

Wildflower was the site of my first adult triathlon in 2010. At the time I was living in New York City, training on my mother’s old aluminum Trek bicycle and had no idea what was awaiting me. The “hills” of Central Park are not exactly equal to what the Wildflower course brings to the table. Even though I suffered through the Olympic distance, that day sparked the small fire that has grown and continues to grow every day. I am a much different athlete now. I am stronger, I am fitter and I am hungry.

I still haven’t decided if I will rock Orange Crush or Fly, it will be a game time decision. But if you are going to be at Lake San Antonio please say hello!

Boogity, boogity, boogity let’s go racing!

2 thoughts on “Off to the Races

Leave a Reply

