On the Road Again

I feel a bit like I am living the movie Groundhog Day. Not literally, but it does seem as if I have unpacked and repacked the same North Face duffel bag more times than I would like to recall in the past month and a half. This trip has us heading out to Tempe, AZ for a weekend of meeting new friends, spectating, seeing family…oh yes, and a little race on Sunday.

At this point, I am much more excited about the social aspect of this weekend than the racing aspect. I will finally get to meet Hillary and a host of other lovely ladies also in town for the race and look forward to watching Collegiate nationals take place on Saturday. Part of my apathy is stemming from the current weather forecast which has temps above 90 degrees for the entirety of our stay. The last time I raced in the heat was in Las Vegas for the 70.3 World Championships. To put it lightly, that was not my brightest day (See: Race Results for evidence). This combined with a nausea-inducing, 16 U-turn bike course should make for an interesting race.

But, I am planning to take it as a good opportunity for some mental strength training. Currently I am in the midst of, Iron War and loving every page. Hopefully I can channel some Allen/Scott style focus on Sunday and beat the heat. That may be wishful thinking.

If you will be out in Tempe for any of the fun this weekend, make sure you stop by the Smashfest Queen booth at the expo! Friday 2-4 and Saturday from 11-1. Fly has landed and you don’t want to miss it!

3 thoughts on “On the Road Again

  1. Yes, I am much more excited about the social aspect than I am about actually racing this thing. And I’m less worried about the heat and more focused on our safety on the bike course. Oh the joys of racing in Tempe! 🙂 Can’t wait to meet you in person!! And safe travels.

  2. Good luck in the heat! I remember walking with you briefly in Vegas. Definitely not our finest moment, but hopefully you’ll have a much better race this time.

Leave a Reply

