Blessings

If you have not yet read this article about Taylor Phinney’s recent ride in the Tirreno Adriatico, stop what you are doing and read it now. If you are prone to water works, maybe do it in a not so public place. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. Taylor’s heroic effort and the inspiration he found to finish that day struck a particular cord with me. I have been thinking a good deal recently about blessings in my own life.

I wrote in February about feeling like I was in a funk, while also knowing that March was looming ahead. But instead of the scattered and slightly overwhelmed emotions I was expecting this month, I feel grateful, inspired and at peace. Race season kicked off successfully in the desert. Traveling has afforded us visits with family and workouts with friends. While the promise of sunshine has brought, and will continue to bring, visitors West. Maybe I am getting wiser with age, but it seems easier lately to focus on the good and take the difficult in stride.

I am well aware that life is not all smooth sailing and I’m sure there are some bumps ahead. But for now, life is good. And I am blessed.

One thought on “Blessings

Leave a Reply

