Expectations

I hoped to be writing a very different post this week. The first race of the season is on Sunday and up until last Tuesday I felt very optimistic. My training had been solid, strong even and I was excited to see how it would play out on the race course.

That was of course until being derailed.

Whatever this cold/virus/sickness is, it has lingered much longer than I would like. I am still not feeling great and spending more of the night coughing than is ideal.

So my expectations for the weekend have changed. I am still going to give it my all and hope for the best. I’m worried there won’t be much pep in my step but who knows, maybe I will surprise myself. I have done this race the last two years. It’s a fun course, super flat (literally 50 feet of gain in 24 miles) and a great first race of the season. A perfect opportunity to dust off the race wheels and remember what it feels like to swim in a wetsuit again.

Regardless of the outcome, I love to race. It is why I am content to put in hour after hour, day after day of training. And at the very least it was an excuse to get some blingin’ race day nails to match my Smashfest kit.

If you happen to be out in the desert this weekend please say hello! The orange crush kit is hard to miss.

5 thoughts on “Expectations

  1. I’m watching Nashville again… while I work (and read your blog!). On Sunday, just remember why you do this sport. It’s easy to get caught up in chasing after PR’s, but the ability to enjoy the process, learn and smile are what really counts. I know you’ll have a great day, because you’re going to have a great attitude! 🙂

  2. You’re going to do JUST fine. I also put great expectations on myself, so I know what it feels like, but remember: better to be derailed now than later when you’ve got 10+ hours of racing you’re looking at. Wish I could cheer you on in the desert, but I’ll be thinking of ya!

  3. no expectations besides going hard and having FUN! oh yeah, and looking good is a no-brainer for you:) all you can ask is the best you can do on the day; at the very least, it will be a hard workout and that’s what we need at this time of year. can’t wait to race with you next month at leadman! xoxo

Leave a Reply

