Smashed

Let me start by saying thank you so much to everyone for your love and support on Friday. I truly appreciate it from the bottom of my heart. This has been, and still is, a long road but one made much smoother by family and friends. 

This past weekend I rode farther than I have ever ridden before. My first 100 miles.

Of course Mother Nature and I were not on the same page as she dished up gusty side winds that just wouldn’t quit. The type of wind that makes you actually yell out loud in frustration. When I finally rolled home I almost couldn’t make it up the stairs. I don’t know if I have ever been that smashed from a day of training.

The schedule indicated I was supposed to ride again the next day. And, at an effort level that at the time seemed laughable as I could barely leave the couch that evening. But that is the thing I am learning about coaches. They unfortunately know more about what you are capable of than you do.

I set out on Sunday with no expectations. And seemingly like magic I hit every prescribed wattage. Sundays ride was like a little gift wrapped up with a pretty bow. A session that reinvigorated everything that Saturday had washed away and made me believe again. Maybe I really can finish this Ironman. And maybe even, finish it well.

Sunny Side of the Street

Sunny Side of the Street

2 thoughts on “Smashed

Leave a Reply

