Winter Staple- Fried rice with kale and scallions

Unfortunately, I can’t take credit for creating this recipe – – nor can I take credit for finding it. But, I will take credit for sharing it with you all! My dear friend, Elizabeth, sent me Gwyneth Paltrow’s book, My Father’s Daughter.  She insisted I try this dish.

It did not disappoint.

Ms. Paltrow has listed the rice a side dish but I made it on a lazy dinner night as the main course. It was very satisfying, as well as very easy. As a main course, I might try adding some sautéed garlic shrimp or miso-glazed salmon to round it out. I plan to make it in batches over the winter to heat up for a quick lunch between training sessions or a hearty snack. It comes husband approved.

The finished product

The finished product

Note: This yields a generous 4 portions (we had leftovers for the following day, which is rare in this two athlete household).

 ½ lb kale, stems discarded (I used dinosaur or black kale)

1 ½ tablespoons vegetable oil (I used sesame oil)

2 cloves garlic, peeled and finely minced

3 large scallions, cut into 1/8- inch diagonal slices

2 ½ cups cooked brown rice

1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon soy sauce

Cut the kale leaves in half lengthwise and then cut crosswise into very thin ribbons (chiffonade). Steam the kale for 7 minutes.

Heat the oil in a large saucepan over medium-low heat. Add the garlic and cook, stirring for 2 minutes, being careful not to brown the garlic. Raise the heat to medium and add the steamed kale and scallions. Cook for 2 minutes and then add the rice and cook for another 2 minutes, stirring. Add the soy sauce and cook for 30 seconds more.

Serves 4

One thought on “Winter Staple- Fried rice with kale and scallions

Leave a Reply

