From The Beginning

I suppose my purpose setting out is two fold. The first is to chronicle the months ahead as I prepare to approach the starting line of Ironman Coeur d’Alene in June of 2013. Although I hope this will not be the only race of this distance that I complete, it will always be the first and as such I believe it deserves some discourse. The second purpose will need a few more words.

Four days after my 23rd birthday I heard the words, “You have cancer.” Not exactly words you expect to hear, having just graduated from college, in the middle of my first “real” job and in what I thought was perfect health. But nonetheless they were said, and it was true. And so began a journey of chemotherapy treatment, hair loss, weight loss, pain I didn’t know possible and in a certain sense a re-awakening. The words uttered by the doctor that day were more powerful than I believed words could be. They picked me up, shook me violently by the shoulders and put me forcefully back down, indicating that life would never be the same. I felt, and feel to this day, a heavy sense of responsibility for being given a second chance. It is one I try very hard not to take for granted.

The year 2013 will mark my final year in “remission”, and so brings me to the second purpose of this blog. I expect the next twelve months will be full of emotion. Emotion from training, from reflection on what it means to become a “survivor”, from our first year of marriage, and from whatever else life throws at me. My hope is that my musings on this transition and these events will one day be helpful to someone who is on a similar journey. And if it turns out no one reads this besides my sister, I will at least be left with a record of the end of one chapter and the beginning of another.

So follow along as I train, cook and smother our French Bulldog with love in Southern California.

4 thoughts on “From The Beginning

  1. You’re such an inspiration and strong woman! Looking forward to following your journey into the next wonderful chapter of your life.

  2. I just started reading your blog, I found it through Hilary’s Blog! I already enjoy all the blog stories and look forward to following it! I just did my first Ironman in Arizona and training for my second, Mount Tremblandt! You will be hooked!! Happy training!

Leave a Reply

